I Was Wondering

What Is It With Men And The Godfather?

I-can-t-figure-it-outI wonder. I wonder about lots of things. And as I’ve wondered over the things I wonder about (I know, I know…we just won’t go into the details of this habit I have of over analyzing) I’ve come to the conclusion that you can tell a lot about a person by the things they wonder over.

So, the title of this post comes from the wonderful movie You’ve Got Mail with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan. Utterly spectacular. The title of this post is one of my favorite lines in the entire movie. Meg Ryan’s character Kathleen Kelly has been given advice from Tom Hanks’ character Joe Fox (F.O.X) to ‘go to the mattresses’, which he explains is from The Godfather. Later, her boyfriend confirms in a very obvious tone that this advice is from The Godfather, like duhEventually Kathleen must finally inquire to the universe, “What is is with men and The Godfather? Hello!”

Originally, I was going to post a few of the things that I wonder about on a daily basis so that you could get to know me a little bit more. But the universe has destined something different, the hand of fate has stopped me.  And I simply want to know:

What Is It With Men And The Godfather?

Let me know what you think; share your stories with me. I think that were I to figure out the answer to this question it may cause some sort of profoundly world-changing paradox.

3 thoughts on “What Is It With Men And The Godfather?

  1. I can’t remember the last time I watched The Godfather, but even though You’ve Got Mail will go down in film history as a completely average film; it’s one of my favourites.
    I think Nora Ephron completely nails what a rom-com should be; with two actors in their prime, some playful scenes and great dialogue to help them on their way.
    Norah creates a version of New York full of meaning, romance and hope, and although it would be ‘cooler’ for me to see NYC the way Scorcese does, or even Woody Allen; the New York I love is the Nora Ephron version.

Leave a Reply

