For Laughs · I Was Wondering · I'm Just Saying · Just Writing

You May, In Fact, Call Me Incorrigible

Ah, and here we come full circle. Well, I don’t really know if that is the correct phrasing to use. However, it seemed a dramatic enough opening statement.  And as to this circle we may or may not have come around, well, it is time for me to speak about this title of mine. Call Me Incorrigible.

your-title-here

Oh, it’s a lovely word, isn’t it? I take real delight in saying it, actually. It’s a word that sounds like what it means. You hear this word ‘incorrigible’, and you know that it has something. But, I’m getting ahead of myself. Please, allow me to state the definition of this wondrous word for the records’ sake.

Incorrigible uncontrollable, firmly fixed; not easily changed, not easily swayed or   influenced.                           [See dictionary.com for the full list complete with examples and                                                            confetti]

So, why do I so love this word which at first seems only a fancy name for….stubborn? Close minded? Because, dear reader, that is not what this word actually means at all.  To be incorrigible is to be yourself; to be incorrigible is to be ‘firmly fixed’ upon something and to never apologize for it. Being incorrigible does not necessarily mean that you are stubborn or unable to deal with new things or closed to influence. Incorrigible is not a negative word.

So, why have I invited you to call me by this word? Well, I’ll tell you.  It is because I am an incorrigible romantic. I could make a list of all of the specific things I’m incorrigible about, but that would make this post much longer than it already is. But here is the point: I love things! I love them wholeheartedly. If you are my friend, I’ll do anything for you. If I have an interest in something, books about it fill my library. I weep uncontrollably when my favorite character in a series I read annually dies and when I watch sad movies. I laugh at just about everything. I love sitting alone and reading, writing, and meditating. I am incorrigible.

c63ba8978c3450fe46aa3d639e8e26d1

And the reason I tell you this is just so that you can get to know me a little bit, not to be incorrigible about being incorrigible. I tell you so that you know that each of us are actually a little incorrigible (even those who are incorrigible mathematicians…may they find peace).

I personally think that another word for incorrigible is passionate. And though this world is far from perfect, there are so many beautiful things to be passionate about.

4 thoughts on “You May, In Fact, Call Me Incorrigible

Leave a Reply

