I'm Just Saying

Pieces of Peace

What happens in the course of a day? These events that build the maze of our lives seem so important, don’t they? We walk along these paths we’ve wound up on living through each of these everyday events; these things which are actually just ordinary. Common. And at the end of the day I’ve been looking at this person whom I see in the mirror and asking her: So, what did you do today?

And her answer is always the same: I went to class, did my homework, laughed with my roommates, etc. etc. etc. and etc.

And for some reason this time I felt compelled to press further: But no. Really. What did you do today?

12422509251238503504Inverted_question_mark_alternate.svg.hi

Well, I was quite puzzled with myself about this question before it finally dawned on me. Of course we all do things everyday; those obligations we fulfill, those countless, nameless, and in some cases maybe even pointless things that we just have to do. But at the end of the day: What Did I Do? What did I do to bring a little bit of joy into my life or the lives of those around me? What did I do to make a memory or enjoy a smile or just really live for a minute? In essence, what did I actually do today that will add satisfaction and joy to my life as a whole?

Our lives are already much too full of the things we have to do, the things that, yes, are really important, but do they necessarily bring you little pieces of joy? Because here is something that I’ve decided to live by: you need happiness. Even if you are going through the most terrible time in your life in work or school, even if you’re stressed out to the maximum level, you need happiness. I marvel at how many times I’ve heard the phrase, “If I can just get through this [insert period of time] then I can be happy.”

Well, I don’t want to shatter the glass here but I don’t think you should ever have to wait to be happy. Happiness isn’t a destination or none of us would ever get there. We are all going through hard times. We are all stressed out, we are all worried, we are all having some sort of crisis. It is just the way the world has to be in order for us to learn and grow individually and in order to be able to help others.

So, we have to learn to be happy anyway. Each day we need to allow ourselves to find joy even in the smallest ways. I call these things my Pieces Of Peace. When you help somebody in need, listen to a favorite song, read a book, go hiking, watch a great movie, make a meal and set the table prettily, or even just look up at the sight of the stars, these can be your Pieces of Peace. These can be your tiny moments of joy among the everyday common things.

When I feel too buried in these common things, that is when I know that I haven’t been making enough time for the things that I love, for my Pieces of Peace. I’m not going to sit here and try and convince you that life is a bowl of roses and you can always be happy even if your entire life goes up in flames and your dog dies. Bad things happen to everybody. And we cannot always do whatever we want, life doesn’t work like that.  But what I am saying is that happiness and peace can be found even in these times.

cccee89ff57ab765295b55c703c50d69

There comes a time when we have to decide that we’re going to make time for the things that bring us joy and peace, that we’re going to enjoy the things we love again. That it’s okay to be happy. Because, guess what? …………….it is okay.

And so, dearest of all readers, I’m off to go enjoy a few of the things that I love, a few of the things that bring me peace and happiness. I don’t ever want to look in the mirror again and have to ask myself that question. May you find and enjoy your own Pieces of Peace.

One thought on “Pieces of Peace

Leave a Reply

