Just Writing

What is Written

Chronicles of a Hopeless Lover of the Written Word14b5674c65dcbb3446b30d1b81832f83

Well, that is in fact what I’ve claimed to be, and you, dear and most wonderful reader, haven’t seen much of it have you? Well, I do, in fact, love the written word. Much more than words can even describe, which is something that I’ve always found to be a sort of irony and at the same time frustrating. But, let me see if I can possibly put this into perspective….hhmmm….hold on, I’m thinking…..

Okay, I think I’ve got this. I just love books, okay? I love, love, love literature! It is safe to say that I’m completely infatuated with words. The ways in which they can be put together are endless, the meanings they have are beyond anything, and the potential they have for creating things is immortal. Because every single thing that has ever happened in this world began with words in some way. I believe in words. I love them.  To speak them is a privilege, and to write them is an honor. For the things that are written become the testaments of society. And it is my dream to use words in the ways that some of my favorite people did, because they spoke and wrote words that changed the world.

I don’t want to think about what this world would be like without them, and I’d rather not try and name them all or then I’d surely forget one and then I’d have to feel extremely guilty and….well, we just won’t go there. I will, however, mention a few. So bear that in mind. This is not the entire list. I would like to personally thank the following people:

  • William Shakespeare
  • Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  • John Locke
  • Charles Dickens
  • William Wordsworth
  • Charlotte Bronte
  • and Jane Austen

0bc2044536bc0b6c68998a4a3bd0f8f2How many things in this world have these people impacted? How many things exist because of them? What were they able to say through their words, whether through direct philosophy, novels, plays, poetry…? What emotions was Shakespeare able to convey under everything? Rousseau and Locke’s words helped form nations. Dickens, Wordsworth, Bronte, and Austen have given us so much more than poetry or novels.  These people understood words, and they used them the way they were meant to be used: to bring light to others. Reader, if you take nothing else from this blog of mine, know this: There is real magic in good literature.

 

Leave a Reply

