For Laughs

One Day Without Being Sticky

ffd88a1a7868e1292fa7aa6129e524d1This being home has been really great. I’ve only been here a few days and I’ve already discovered some new things as well as made new memories. Today I went to my older sister’s house and made sugar cookies with her and her three little boys.

Before I continue with my story, I would just like to tell you a little bit about my nephews. I actually have eight nephews, and I love each and every one of them. I also have four nieces, and they are completely amazing and always make me laugh. However, I think of my nephews as my guardian angels. Whenever I’m having a rough day I call one of them and all I have to hear is their tiny voice on the end of the line saying, “I love you!” for my entire world to turn into a field of pink roses. My nephews are the greatest things on this earth, and not to mention, they really like me. So whenever I come home I spend a lot of time with them.

Today my sisters boys, ages 8 months, 2, and 3, were particularly wonderful. The two year old ate all the frosting off of a hugebb854e672b7839a66f7477e45921ac87 cookie which turned quite soggy, the 3 year old just scooped it right out of the bowl, and the 8 month old laughed at them and drooled a lot. It was a picture perfect day. At one point my sister looked at her two year old, covered head to toe in green sugar cookie frosting, and said with a laugh, “Can you just go one day without being sticky?” He answered in his own personal language with a grin. I translated it to mean, “Well, I could. But what would be the fun in that?”

But as I looked back on that moment, her statement really stuck with me and my powers of analysis went into overdrive. Eventually I decided that there were at least two different ways to apply this statement to our lives.

  1. The way my nephew obviously took it. We could grow up, be responsible, finish the check list, etc. etc., but at the end of the day what would be the fun in that?
  2. I will be the first to admit that I’m metaphorically sticky. Whenever somebody has bad energy or a lot of negativity in their life I let it stick to me and sink in because I want to help. It took me a long time to realize that at some point they either will or won’t be helped and you have to quit being sticky.

I’m sure that there are several other ways this could be taken, but these two really stuck out to me, most particularly the first one. I realize that as adults, we all have 0741fcbce6a8c78cc1b440028b37db85obligations and we all have things that we have to do. That is just a part of life. It is just what it is. But that doesn’t mean that that mentality has to seep into every corner of our life. It doesn’t mean that life has to be about “just getting things done” or “fulfilling obligations” or “teaching a lesson” or ‘building character” or anything like that. Life doesn’t always have to be like that. Each day should be filled with moments of pure fun or wonder, moments of joy. (In case you haven’t noticed by now, reader, I’m a big believer in joy.)

Just because we have to do obligatory things doesn’t mean that everything is obligatory. We could decide to be that way and have everything have a point and be planned out, but what would be the fun in that? What’s wrong with being covered in green sugar cookie frosting once in a while? My nephew taught me a great lesson today. As a toddler, he is continually sticky, that’s how little kids are. It seems like every substance known to man gets stuck to them somehow. But at the end of the day he is happy, he is healthy, everything that was important got accomplished, and we still had time to make cookies and play with monster trucks.

Leave a Reply

