Just Writing

Just A Little Brave

Just A Little Brave

The walls feel so very tall

Surrounding me into one single place

I feel so trapped and helpless

Instead of sturdy and safe

 

I know that if they crumble,

they will fall down around me

But alone I cannot hold them up

I cannot push against gravity

 

 And the reasons to give up are many

Because I cannot see the way

But even so I know it’s time to fight

Because I can be just a little brave

 

I can’t hold the walls up on my own

And I can’t stop their falling away

But I can push with all my might

Because I can be just a little brave

 

The dragons are so close to me

And my armor has been stripped away

They snap their jaws and breathe their fire

And I can’t stop the things they say

 

They are so large and powerful

And I am very, very small

I can hardly fight this army of giants

With flapping wings and deadly claws

 

            And the reasons to give up are many

            Because I cannot see the way

            But even so I know it’s time to fight

            Because I can be just a little brave

 

            I cannot fight them all and win

            And I cannot put their fires away

            But even with this knowledge in me

            I can still be brave

 

The waters are large and crashing

The ocean is not beautiful tonight

And the currents are pulling me

And the darkness drowns my light

 

I cannot swim, I cannot breathe

And the shoreline seems so far

I feel my soul begin to sink

I can no longer see the stars

 

   And the reasons to give up are many

            Because I cannot see the way

            But even so I know it’s time to fight

            Because I can be just a little brave

 

            I cannot fight the ocean currents

            Or conquer the crashing waves

            But still I look to shore and sky

            Because I can be brave

 

Sometimes in life we feel this way

So trapped, surrounded, or drowning

There seems no hope, no way, no light

There is no need for expounding

 

We cannot always see a path

There isn’t always a clear way

But even so we all must try

To be a little brave

 

   And the reasons to give up are many

            Because you cannot see the way

            But even so you know to fight

            Because you can be just a little brave

 

            And this bravery may at first be false

            A front, a mask, so to say

            Courage, I’ve found, must be grown

            But you can be just a little brave

 

Sometimes this is really all we have

Sometimes the next step is covered in rain

But you lift your foot and plunge ahead

Because you can be just a little brave

 

A warrior you may not be at first

A requirement is to train

But even in these moments

You can be just a little brave

 

            And the reasons to give up are many

            Because you cannot see the way

            But even so you know to fight

            Because you can be just a little brave

 

            Please do not despair

            Even if you cannot see the way

            Even in your darkest moments

            You can be just a little brave

 

And that is really it, you know

That is all that it takes

One step into the darkness

Just a little bit brave

 

It helps if you have a reason

No matter how small it may

One single tiny reason

To be just a little brave

 

             And the reasons to give up are many

            Because you cannot see the way

            But even so you know to fight

            Because you can be just a little brave

 

            I have my one single tiny reason

            My reason to be a little brave

            Small eyes and a ready laugh

            Unquestioned love each day

 

And there you have it

A small reason though it may

A child’s laugh and ready love

Are my reasons to be brave

 

Because my reasons to give up are many

Because I cannot see my way

But even so I’ll take my step

Because I can be just a little brave

Leave a Reply

