I'm Just Saying

Time To Try Softly

If there is one thing that I will say about myself, it is that I try way too hard. I will credit this to my superhuman powers of over-analyzing. I simply try to hard and over-think 99% of what I do. I try too hard in school, thinking that if I over prepare to the max then it’ll be so much better. I do believe in being over prepared most of the time, just because it usually benefits you in the long run. But to be honest, it’s exhausting to try so hard and worry so much over everything.

a247eee50ccb36e0c18a319422ad26abI’m not saying I’m going to stop trying, because you should never, ever stop trying. But I think the point is that I’m going to change the way I try, and my attitude about trying. The phrase goes that you need to ‘try hard’. But at some point, I think you need to realize that you’ve done all you can do and now it’s time to leave the rest to God or fate or whatever you believe in. At some point, you do have to stop trying. You cannot control everything, you cannot always prepare for absolutely everything that will come your way.

I’ve been thinking a great deal about my blog the last few days. You followers and those that read my posts I am tremendously grateful for. But I’ve been thinking quite a bit about what I can do better and what I’m doing wrong, how to reach more people. And that was when this hit me. Sometimes I think I just try too hard when I post things. I think that if I’m out there or there is always a purpose or something that my posts will be more meaningful. But interestingly enough my posts that seem to reach the most people have always been the ones that I didn’t think or plan and simply said what I had to say.

So, I think that as my new semester begins and the new year begins, it is time to try softly. It’s time to keep doing my best and preparing for things, but to stop try to control it all, to stop labeling stressing over everything as ‘trying hard’. Try your best and keep trying, but do so softly.

Leave a Reply

