I'm Just Saying

And No Matter What

Today I felt many and various emotions, a plethora of them if you will. But there is just one in particular that I wanted to talk about. But first, some background.

I have three older sisters, and I get along with each of them pretty well. But especially one in particular. She and I are very similar, and we have a great time together. Her husband has a job which requires them to move around a lot, and they never really know how long they are going to be in an area. Just before Christmas Break, they were moved here! I don’t know how long they’ll be here, of course, but just having my sister here with me has been such a huge help to me in so many ways. fadc3867278918d471e061cc2b6adfb5

Today we went to lunch at a sandwich place together, arriving there at around 2:30. We got our food and sat beside the fireplace in the quaint little shop, eating and talking. And we just talked and talked. We talked about everything. She just recently announced that she is pregnant and so like sisters do, we gushed on and on about her baby and all of the things that she is going to need. We talked about our family, she talked about her husband. I talked about school. We talked about hopes, fears, dreams, goals, and everything in between. And after we finished our food we just kept on talking. Finally, we came around to looking at the time and it was 4:30. Two wonderful, uninterrupted hours of talking to my sister. It was amazing. I didn’t feel the need to talk about anything specific, I listened to her, she listened to me. We just talked.

It was an amazing thing. I didn’t realize how much I needed it until after I returned home. I think that not many of us get an opportunity like that, to sit with somebody we love and talk about everything. It just felt so natural to sit and talk to her, and afterwards I felt so much better even though nothing had really been wrong. I think it’s really easy to forget the blessing of friends and family, to just take advantage of the fact that they are always there. But when we get to stop and sit with them, we realize just how lucky we are. I guess the whole point here is that I’m just happy tonight, and I wish every one of you the same.

Leave a Reply

