I Was Wondering

Without The Sound Of Silence

781d8d5b6d81234f558367b79b6c64baThere is one thing that I think about every single time I sit down and begin wondering over this thing called life. What we know about it is that it is crazy, beautiful, hard, tragic, and completely wonderful. According to my own beliefs, I think that life is meant to be enjoyed, life is meant for happiness, but none of that is possible without God. He gave us absolutely everything, and ultimately He wants us to return to Him. We are here to learn and grow, to cry and to laugh. It reminds me of that passage in Ecclesiastes which says that there is a time for everything. If there wasn’t, there is no way we could appreciate everything. If there weren’t bad times, the good wouldn’t be as wonderful. If we didn’t cry, we couldn’t understand the joy of laughing.

Which brings me to this conclusion that I stumble upon every time I go through this mental journey. Life is bittersweet. So completely and totally bittersweet. It seems like every time something wonderful happens there is a bit of something not so wonderful that we have to take with it. Beginning again is wonderful, but that doesn’t always mean that it’s the best thing in the world. But in the end, life is bittersweet because that is the way it has to be. Life is bittersweet so that we know how to enjoy it.

Today, I am particularly grateful for my religious beliefs, and for the life’s bittersweet moments. I know that God loves us and cares about us. I know He wants us to find peace and joy, to develop our talents and share them with the world in order to make the lives of others better. I know that as terrible as it seems, everything happens for a reason. We have agency to make choices in our lives, to go down the paths that we wish to. But in the end, there really are no accidents. My best friend is getting married in a few months. To me, weddings are the ultimate example of the bittersweet moment. I am so incredibly happy for her, because she gets to marry the man that she loves and begin a life with him. But at the same time, I can’t help feeling that the person who has been another sister to me is going to be a little further away than she was. Not even literally, their new apartment is like a block away, but in a different sense. Things won’t be the way they were, and that is alright. I know how happy she is going to be. This is a wonderful thing, but every once in a while I have to hold back a few tears.

Life is bittersweet, but it is wonderful that way. What is sweet is incredibly so, and even in the bitter moments we can find a ray of hope. As I look back over the last few years of my life, there has been so much bitter. But then I see that it is all outweighed by the sweet. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. I wrote a poem a little bit ago with the stanza:

I wanted so much to tell you

That truly, all is well

That without the sound of silence

We wouldn’t have the sound of a bell

I believe this with all my heart, and couldn’t be more grateful for the different moments, memories, laughs, tears, and pure life that I’m able to live and the faith I have that keeps me through it. Life is bittersweet, but without the sound of silence we wouldn’t have the sound of a bell.

Leave a Reply

