I'm Just Saying

Dear Rachel

Dear Rachel,

You have been my friend now for roughly seven years. Can you believe it? It blows my mind away how fast all of that went. The times and memories that we have shared and still share are so close to my heart. I can’t even begin to number or count the ways in which you have influenced my life, or all the reasons I love you.

You see, it never mattered that I already have quite a few sisters of my own. You have not only been a best friend to me over the years, but a sister as well. Even when you moved into my small town from New York, I never felt like you were anything but my best friend. I felt like I knew you instantly. I suppose Anne Shirley was correct after all on the whole kindred spirit idea. It has never mattered where we went in life, what we were doing, or how we were separated. I always know that besides all of these things, you will always be there for me when I need you. No matter what happens, you have always been there for me when I needed you.

The thing about you, Rachel, is that when I look at you I just see light. There is something about you that is just otherworldly. Over the years I have come to find that the reason behind that is because you are such a good person. Now, really, stop blushing and covering your face in disbelief. It’s true. You are an incredibly good person, and people know that just by looking at you. I’ve never seen you do anything wrong, I’ve never heard you say anything bad about anybody. You are an amazing person and you’ve been a wonderful example to me throughout the years.

The purpose of this letter today is just to tell you that. I just wanted you to know how much I love and appreciate you, and I wanted to put it in a place where it wasn’t just me telling you. Here are the permanent words of what your friendship and influence has meant to me over the years, and will mean to me always. Have a wonderful day, I’ll probably talk to you soon!

Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

