I'm Just Saying · Just Writing

I’m Going To Rant Now

There is something that goes on in this world that drives me absolutely crazy. It is something that I’ve wanted to blog about for some time, but I never have because I get quite worked up over it. But today, I simply but get it off my chest because today happens to be one of those times that it drives me crazy. SO crazy.

Originality is something that I hold very high. Especially as a writer myself, I always try to be original. To come up with new things, ideas, or ways of the writing things. Call me crazy, but that’s just the way that I thought you did it when writing. But no. Unfortunately, that is not how many, many people see it.

So here it is. I absolutely cannot stand it when people branch off of other people’s work. I hate it when people write books off of classical books. I hate it when people do things like that because there really isn’t anything original to that. I understand this post may be offensive to some people, and for that I apologize. But I cannot keep quiet about it any longer. I myself have read books that branch off of classical works, and some of them I enjoyed immensely. But at the end of the day, it is still something that really, really bothers me. The radical side of my mind wants to shout things like, “Come up with your own ideas, please!” But I do understand that despite these works being based on something already written, they themselves are pieces of literature that were thought out and imagined by somebody. However, that doesn’t really change anything for me. I get a lot of ideas from classical works myself. I get ideas from songs. But I do always try to create something that is completely my own.

And so, my rant is over now. I just very much dislike it when I go to find a classical work and have to sift through the entire PLANET of branch off books that have been written before I actually find what I was looking for in the first place. And there you have it.

Leave a Reply

