I Was Wondering · I'm Just Saying

The Answer To The Question Is…

Well, once again, the Daily Prompt is oddly fitting to what I’ve been thinking about lately. And this prompt in particular is interesting because I happened to find something on my computer the other day. A sort of journal entry or something that I wrote  quite some time ago that actually fits very well with this topic. Written just over a year ago on March 7, 2013, it states:

38fda346fafc2c27cb46e62980af17b9Frank Sinatra is the answer to every question on this earth. It’s like that part in You’ve Got Mail. “The Godfather is the sum of all wisdom, the Godfather is the answer to any question.” Well, one of the characters in the Godfather was actually modeled after Frank. So this comparison is completely valid and totally wonderful. So, let’s rephrase that whole part in that movie, “Frank Sinatra is the I Ching, Frank Sinatra is the sum of all wisdom, Frank Sinatra is the answer to any question. What should I pack for my summer vacation? Pack a small bag.”

Although this sounds a little extreme now, I definitely look back on it with a smile. But it is a strange thing, actually. Being sad, having a case of the blues. It really isn’t fun, you know? Especially if you don’t know the exact cause of the blues and you’re just all around sad. But at the same time, it is a very real feeling, and something that (not surprisingly) I’ve overthought quite a bit.

But to answer the question, when I am sad, I remind myself of the good things. I listen to Frank or call my nephews or color in the giant pirate coloring book my mom got me for 54517c136cdbca62eac167a381e3e7f5Valentines Day or laugh with my roommates or simply sit and remind myself what it means to breathe. Very slowly, just in and out. Thinking of beautiful music or a sunset or warm summer nights with hot dog roasts and nieces and nephews covered in roasted marshmallows. Or of Christmas time ad1179759b0a9291e3315fd6af0800f44nd twinkling lights, falling snow and jingle bells. I try and remember the good things, the joyful things, the things that make me happy. I try to forget about the mountain of struggles resting on my shoulders and breathe them away. I try to remember that ten years from now I want to look back and remember beautiful times and not the times that made me sad. I cry if I need to. It’s okay to be sad. There is no shame in being human. But being sad is a sickness. After a while you get too used to the feeling of depression and inadequacy. So I try to remind myself that it’s okay to be sad for as long as I feel like I need to. Cry out all the tears. Wallow in the self pity for just a minute if you need to before moving on.

But then…”I pick myself up and get back in the race!” Because that’s life. And, not surprisingly, Frank is the answer to any question.

 

4 thoughts on “The Answer To The Question Is…

Leave a Reply

