For Laughs

Matchmaker, Matchmaker…

49487fc21ddcfd65fcabd1cdb4756c9dI fancied myself a matchmaker. I did. In my fifteen year old brain two of my best friends were practically made for each other and it was absolutely my job to make sure that they realized their destinies. What ended up boosting my confidence on the whole subject was that they each individually came up to me and told me that they had feelings for the other person. So, of course, all they needed was a little nudge in the right direction and then I could practically take credit for happily ever after! Right?

Matchmaker, matchmaker make me a match!

Well, to be perfectly honest and absolutely humble, I pulled it off rather flawlessly. I mean, there was a slight bit of awkwardness and a few, “Hey, why don’t you sit here and I’ll just go away…”s before he finally got up the courage to tell her how he felt. And just like that, bam! Success!

Find me a find!

Oh, my glory was unprecedented! Well, at least that’s how I saw it. If I’d had it my way I 17bd9c4eac8fd08dceb9e21d658088ecwould have had my own personal red carpet and a person to throw petals before my feet. And really, it had been so incredibly easy! A little reassuring here, a nudge there! Oh, I was convinced that I was completely glorious!

Catch me a catch!

And then, well. I don’t exactly know if I thought about this relationship long term or not, but apparently that wasn’t in the picture at all. Because not too long after that she left for college and he still had high school left to do and well…that “happily ever after” kind of went away to not so much.

What makes this whole relationship ordeal so funny is how awesome I thought I was and how happy I was sure I had helped them become only to realize, oh, yeah…this isn’t realistic at all!

Um…matchmaker?

7 thoughts on “Matchmaker, Matchmaker…

Leave a Reply

