I'm Just Saying

Dwell in Possibility

Bucket list. Bucket-list. Bucket list.

You know something, I’ve always been a little bit fascinated with the idea of a bucket list. It isn’t really a list of goals, because when you write down a list of goals they have to be slightly realistic or have a time frame or have to contain some sort of achievement plan. A bucket list is basically what we all wish we could write down on our goal lists. A bucket list is the place where you can write down absolutely anything because you’re operating in a sphere of possibility.

d7df085351b91efb7fd7d6cdd40eb4d5Emily Dickinson once said, “I dwell in possibility.” And if there were one thing I could use to describe bucket lists, it would be that one phrase. A bucket list sort of breaks down all barriers, removes all doubt and fear. You can dwell in possibility and write down absolutely anything.

That being said, I actually have two separate bucket lists. I don’t know if I can actually call them bucket lists because I’ve never really written them down. They just exist in a file in my brain somewhere and sometimes I take them out, dust them off, and take a peak. Today, I want to share one of my bucket lists with you, the one that I think of as my super-possibility charged list because it is…so fun. That is really the only word I can use to describe it. So, without further ado, and in no particular order:

  • Meet a nun
  • Learn to speak Elvish
  • Learn to play the shredding electric guitar
  • Meet Robert Duvall (because, seriously, this should be on everyone’s list…)
  • Speak at a major convention/meeting/gathering etc.
  • Wear a flapper outfit to the old theater in Birmingham, Alabama for an event (someday I”ll tell you the story behind this one)
  • Sing “Think of Me” from The Phantom of the Opera and totally rock it
  • Go to a service at an old church/cathedral etc. regardless of what religion it is

The thing about a bucket list is, I don’t know if you ever really “finish” it because there is so much to do in the world.

 

2 thoughts on “Dwell in Possibility

Leave a Reply

