I'm Just Saying

What Won’t End Up In A Box

I think that for the most part, the Daily Prompts are supposed to make you think. Today’s 5b656cc4c0cbc20e03c97a33d60c0f13prompt of, “What is your most prized possession?” has definitely got me thinking. Even though I didn’t want to take the basic materialistic approach to this, I began going through my mind and all of the really important material possessions that I have: pictures of family, books, my scriptures, and a whole host of things that I’ll spend lugging back and forth when moving out of my apartment this week.

But honestly, when it came right down to it, I couldn’t really think of a material possession that I have that couldn’t be replaced. I mean, there are things I have that are incredibly important to me and have memories attached to them that are close to my heart. But if you think about it in a different way, your whole life you have these possessions that mean so much to you and then someday they end up in a box somewhere and you stumble upon them some afternoon and remember how much they once meant to you.

And because this tends to happen with the things that are important to us, I decided to go a different way with it. My family are of course, the most important to me. But I definitely wouldn’t classify them as a possession, just a blessing. My religion is also indescribably important to me, but I also wouldn’t classify it as a possession. So, in the about five seconds that I sat thinking about this post before I wrote it, I went through this entire journey and ended up with not a whole lot.

Well, the next obvious place to turn was the dictionary. It turns out that a definition of “possess” is: to have as a faculty, quality, or the like (dictionary.com). And well, this turned my pre-post thinking process on a completely different course. And again the wheels of my mind began turning and I began to wonder: of the qualities I know that I possess, which one means the most to me? Which one was the hardest to gain or the most valiantly learned? And the answer was surprisingly easy. 8c1a2254d273f1989a197abc7d6fa6c5

I know who I am. In a past post I talked about the whole “finding yourself” phrase and what I thought it really meant. For me personally, I know that we are always changing bit by bit. Personalities are a complex thing and there isn’t ever a way to pin one person down really. But when I look in the mirror, I largely know who I am. I know what I believe. I don’t know where I’m going always, but I know that no matter where life takes me that I’ll continue to learn and to grow and through it all I’ll always be myself. And that, my friend, is valuable knowledge.

6 thoughts on “What Won’t End Up In A Box

  1. Pingback: itsmayurremember

Leave a Reply

