For Laughs · I'm Just Saying

Let’s Talk About It

e9b4bba774bc116295f2cba7402e32ceGoodness! I didn’t realize that it had been so long since I’d posted anything. A whole nine days! This post promises to be awesome. I promise that I’m alive, as you can probably tell. Here I am and doing great! Getting ready for my mission has been a crazy experience thus far, but I have all my immunizations! So that’s good! No diseases over here!

Also, about those posts I promised to write in advance…golly, if I thought coming up with one blog post was hard. Try coming up with 18 different blog posts and writing them in advance! It’s like a giant leap of faith! So if any of you have something you want to hear about, please comment about it here and it’ll get worked into a post somewhere!

Okay, so now that I’ve got all of that established, let’s move on to what I want to talk about today.

Today, I want to talk about Frank Sinatra.

One of my all time favorite pictures of Frank.
One of my all time favorite pictures of Frank.

As many of you know, I’m a Frank Sinatra fan. A very big Frank Sinatra fan, actually, but it’s not something I talk about a lot on this blog because in my every day life if I talk about it as much as I’d like to the words “obsessed” and “addicted” get thrown around. And those have negative connotations. I prefer “enamored” and “attached”. Okay, haha, that was a joke. But seriously, though, I love Frank Sinatra.

The amount of times I’ve heard the following sentences:

  • “Who is Frank Sinatra?” (May heaven have mercy on them, bless their hearts.)
  • “Why Frank Sinatra?”
  • “Okay…that’s….cool…”
  • “Wasn’t he, like, a bad person? I mean, like, he does have a questionable reputation.” (Yes, feel free to do your best impersonation of a valley girl when reading that. Try it.)
  • And my absolute favorite, “Oh, I like him, too! He was a singer, right?”

Is just….well, there isn’t a reasonable adjective there. So today I’m just going to ramble for a minute about Frank and why I love him. You can stop reading right now, if you feel so inclined. Seriously. This is more for me than anyone. Ahem.

Frank at the age of 8. Come on, how could he not grow up to be awesome?
Frank at the age of 8. Come on, how could he not grow up to be awesome?

Frank Sinatra was just amazing. There are no words to describe it. None at all. Sinatramania, the songs, the movies, the whole era he created by just being him…I’ve posted about it before and I’ll post about it again. Frank Sinatra is the answer to any question. His career lasted so long and he had such a huge impact not only on American culture but on the world that it truly wouldn’t be the same without the name of Ol’ Blue Eyes.

Listening to his music makes me indescribably happy and watching the movies is equally wonderful. Rarely has a superstar had such an influence on more than just the entertainment industry. Frank was a very influential humanitarian and throughout his career raised an excess of $1 billion for charity; not to mention the millions of his own money that he gave away anonymously throughout his life.

Frank when he won Best Supporting Actor for his role in the 1953 film of the year, From Here to Eternity.
Frank when he won Best Supporting Actor for his role in the 1953 film of the year, From Here to Eternity.

And I’ll be the first to admit that Frank is tied up in controversy, trust me, I’ve done my research. Not only is most of it false anyway, but this is to conclusion I’ve come to: who cares? Frank is no longer in this world, which is something I lament daily but that’s a different story, so there’s really no point in talking about it. Why not enjoy the music and the movies and all of the wonderful things that he did? Because, trust me, he did a lot of very incredible things. Go learn about it and it’ll blow your mind. Controversial mysteries seem to spice things up, anyway.

And so, I suppose that’s it for today. Enjoy the following song as it’s one of my favorites (which is saying a lot because, trust me, I love them all.) And like Frank used to say at the end of his shows, “Sleep warm.”

Leave a Reply

