I'm Just Saying · Just Writing

The Happiness Challenge

August is here! What the weird? At this point I’ve been on my mission for just over a month, so I’m still just a greenie. I’m sure that I’m loving it, though, and that all is well.

067f2c2b9ee27052ccb1a60a6d994dcfSo, today I want to talk about happiness. It’s strange to me that, as humans, we spend so much time wanting happiness or trying to happy. And no matter how many times we tell each other that happiness isn’t something that you stumble upon or find, that it’s something that you have to decide you are, we still continue to try and find it. I think, though, that one of the biggest steps in realizing that you are happy is defining the things in your life that make you happy.

So, I’m going to do that here, and then I encourage you to do the same thing. And then every day I want you to read over the list you make or maybe even make a new list everyday, and record in a journal or on a blog what difference that made in your happiness journey. If you decide to make a new list every day or maybe once a week, know that there is no set of numbers included. It doesn’t have to be 10 Things or 5 Things or 100 Things, it just has to be the things that made you happy. This is a challenge that you cannot just decide to do on a whim, you have to be committed. Do it for a month, and let me know how it went.

15 Things That Make Me Happy:Cloudy-Day-Wallpaper-2

  1. My nieces and nephews. They rock. (Speaking of which, I’m supposed to get a new nephew today, August 1st. Sweet!)
  2. Cloudy days, they are rife with inspiration. And they’re cozy.
  3. Pepsi. It’s just…good.
  4. Reading
  5. Writing, it’s a magical experience.
  6. Sleeping, because my dreams intrigue me.
  7. Frank Sinatra
  8. Old movies622c47704157393979c3d8ea4f69cd90
  9. French fries
  10. Giving speeches
  11. Family parties
  12. Fireworks
  13. Spending time in bookstores
  14. Laughing
  15. A fancy dinner now and again, all dressed up and everything.

So, reader, what do you think? Challenge accepted?

Leave a Reply

