For Laughs

The Things I Shouldn’t Do

Do you suppose that it’s necessary for me to being all of these posts acknowledging that it is the first of a new month? I mean, at this point I’m pretty sure you all know that I’m not actually here. I’m somewhere in Texas on a mission and these posts were all written in June of 2014. So every month do I have to say, “Happy this month, oh, it’s the first of the month…” I don’t think so. In fact, I should probably stop doing that. I’m sure you all know what day it is.

f3238e79fb316ebc3e157c0cc56e13e4That being said, there are probably a whole host of things I should stop doing. Like asking you how you’re doing. I mean, I genuinely care how you are all doing, but I won’t be reading your responses until December of 2015. And by then, who knows how you’ll be doing? But to be perfectly honest, if I stop doing that, then I’ll feel like a total lame-sauce blogger. You guys come onto this blog to find something interesting after all. I might as well ask you how you’re doing if you’re taking the time out of your day to read about over thinking, ambiguous life lessons, reading/writing, my family whom none of you actually know, and Frank Sinatra. Alright, decision made, I’m going to keep asking you how you are doing.

I also shouldn’t do only one post a month while I’m away. On one hand, it is great because 736ca387d100a06c15042b1492cd45e1if you like it, you might remember to stick around for the next one. On the other hand, it’s bad because a month, though not very long, is long enough for a ton of stuff to happen and then one day a post will appear in your reader entitled “The Things I Shouldn’t Do” and you’ll be sitting there thinking, “What the devil? This girl is alive? Where did this even come from? And why is she using this opportunity to inform me of the things in her life that she shouldn’t do?” ……………..okay, half of this paragraph was just one really, really big sentence and I seriously just sat here for a full minute trying to remember where I was going with it. Suffice it to say, I’m only doing one post a month for the sole purpose that even by doing that, it means that I have 18 posts to write in advance and that’s a lot of posts. So, there’s that.

I also shouldn’t use these posts to write about obscure junk. But then again, most of what I write about seems to be that. I sit down with this great idea in my head of this wonderful and inspirational and amazing post I’m going to write that’s going to get a billion likes and views because it changes everybody’s life. But then…it generally doesn’t turn out that way. But I guess that’s the whole point of writing. You strive for that classic that is just somehow your perfection. Trust me, this post isn’t it.

And now that I’ve used my monthly post for October to inform you of the things I shouldn’t do in my monthly posts and then also informing you that I’m going to continue doing them, that’s a wrap. You are all gems.

Have a great month!

Leave a Reply

