I'm Just Saying

Smell the Gardenias

1bf126ae5f43ef7f901f19ba3a5f79e2Happy 2015!! Wow, it’s so crazy! 2015 just promises to be quite the year, really. It’s the year we finally catch up with Marty McFly (yes, that was a Back to the Future reference. I had to), and there is something very monumental happening in December, which isn’t just me coming home or anything. But since it is January, I won’t talk about December again just yet.

Suffice it to say, Happy New Year and all that jazz. I actually hate the whole idea of New Years. Yes, I know, how pessimistic of me. I’m not generally that way, but I am definitely that way with New Years. I feel like people go through all this effort to party and make promises they’re not going to keep and la la la and then they wake up January 1st and it’s just another day. But there is my little shpiel about it. I’m done there.

All that being said, I do wish all of you the very best of New Years. I hope that if you made a resolution it wasn’t out of some type of societal tradition and that it is something that you’ll genuinely try to keep and make your life happier. And I also hope that Christmas was wonderful for all of you. If you followed my guidebook, I don’t see how it couldn’t be, but that’s just me. I hope it was an incredible season full of great memories. A season that you’re not necessarily glad to be done with.

And so January is upon us. Wherever you find yourself on this New Years Day, take a 8041586d06328d4393ae30270882dbecmoment to be grateful for it. This is an opportunity to seize the day and everything. Even if you made no resolution, even if you find that you’re happier than you’ve ever been, don’t forget to stop and smell the roses. (Or daises, or snapdragons, or white gardenias…you know, whatever your preference is you can just substitute it into that phrase.) No matter where we find ourselves, it’s always a good thing to be grateful for new beginnings.

Leave a Reply

