Just Writing

Namaste

I’m currently going through this time in my life where I am really fascinated with India. I’ve always been really curious about India, my whole life. I remember being a little girl and sneaking outside at night with a blanket over my head, pretending to be an Indian princess escaping somewhere to go hunt tigers. (Because a blanket over my head is, of course, the closest thing to a sari…)

I’m definitely not going to pretend that I know anything about India. Because, truthfully, I really don’t know much at all. This summer, though, I have done this wild and crazy thing. Quite the adventure, actually. I am putting most things on hold and have committed to writing a book full time. Writing a book, I have done before, but never full time. It is super exciting! And the setting for this novel just happens to be lovely India. It is a story that I’ve always had tickling the back of my mind.

tajIt all started when I read Jane Eyre for the first time 6 years ago. (It will always be one of my favorites, by the way.) Jane is asked by her cousin to join him in going to India for a mission trip, to help preach Christianity there. Well, me being who I am, I have never gotten that part of the story out of my mind. What happened to him once he arrived there? Did he stay there? What was it like to go to India for that purpose around the 1850’s? And if she could go, other women certainly did, I’m sure.

With this narrative to myself secretly residing in my mind all this time, it was only a matter of time before a story began forming itself and nagging at me to do something with it. Which is precisely what I’ve done! To be honest, the research is very intense, but has been a joy and a pleasure. Though, again, I’m not going to pretend that I know much about India. But one thing that has really touched me is the greeting ‘Namaste’.

Of course we’ve all heard this greeting, but have we ever thought about it before? I’ve been searching like crazy for a simple, universal meaning. But namaste, come to find out, has many different translations. But, they all have the same basic meaning. You are, in essence, acknowledging the place within the person you are greeting in which there is some form of higher power, or spirit. Isn’t that so incredibly beautiful?

Namaste.

2 thoughts on “Namaste

    1. Thank you for the advice! I definitely want to visit someday! Hopefully in the hear future I’ll have the opportunity to do so!

Leave a Reply

