Just Writing

Grandfather’s Journals

I’ve recently been given the privilege of doing something completely amazing. My grandfather has kept a journal since 1979, not daily, but a journal recording his life story. Last week I went to his home and he handed me 6 notebooks: his life story written in his sometimes unreadable script.

My job is to type it all up for him, something that he’s wanted to have done for many years. We’re going to make it into a real book for him as a surprise. I’m about half way through the first notebook, and I am enjoying it even more than I thought I would. Not only is my grandpa hilarious, and I’m learning a lot of funny stories, but it is a completely wonderful opportunity that I can’t believe I’ve been given. My grandpa has 14 grandchildren, and numerous acquaintances, and I’m the one who gets to do this. It has been amazing, and I can’t wait to keep going!

It’s got me thinking a lot about life and keeping a record, though. I suppose a blog is a type of record that we keep. But is that why we do it? Do we record things (whether by blog or journal or whatever) so that, 100 years from now, our however-many-great grandchildren will be able to find comfort or answers or even just a laugh? It’s an interesting thought.

But whatever the case may be, I’m excited for this adventure I’m taking through the life of an incredible man.

One thought on “Grandfather’s Journals

Leave a Reply

