For Laughs

Do The Mambo Like A Crazy

rosemaryWhen I listen to Rosemary Clooney sing “Mamo Italiano”, strange things start happening. I suddenly become this jazz vocalist and start singing along to very fast paced lyrics that I had no idea I even knew. I think I even become just a little bit Italian. There is also dancing involved….and I’m not really a dancer. It begins as soon as the song starts, and finishes right when the song ends.

And while I have this inkling that many of us go through transformations when listening to our favorite artists and songs, this really is something entirely other. It only happens when I listen to Rosemary Clooney. I suddenly feel like I’m wearing elbow length gloves and before I know it, I’m doing the mambo like a crazy.

Hey, mambo! Mambo italiano!
Hey, mambo! Mambo italiano
Go, go, go you mixed up sicialiano
All you calabraise-a do the mambo like a crazy…

Leave a Reply

