I'm Just Saying

Talk To Me

cinemaI have always loved movies. Movies are the best. In fact, I’d totally be a film historian. No joke. It would no longer be Leonard Maltin you’d see giving you a brief history of John Wayne movies. But me. All red hair and smiles. Yep. And, of course, my massive cinematic knowledge underneath it all. Now this all may sound like a silly joke, but I have, in fact, looked into it. Not becoming the next Leonard Maltin, but being a film historian. Anyway, these  thoughts kind of ran together a little. Let me be clear:

I love movies.

I love watching the story play out. It’s probably the writer in me, how I see characters from different angles. Thinking of the ways the story could end, observing the small things. Movies entertain, yes, but they also teach.

Next week brings a lot of change for me. I’ m going back to school and who even knows what that’s going to bring! I was speaking to a friend of mine today, expressing my nervousness, and blurted, “I don’t want to do it! Then I’ll have to meet people. I HATE people!”

She only laughed and assured me that I do not actually hate people, it’s sarcasmjust the process of meeting them and getting to know them that becomes tedious. As you may or may not have noticed, I’m a fairly sarcastic person. Way more sarcastic if you meet me in person. I am not sarcastic in a rude way, I’m just really witty. (This I know about myself and I will say with complete humility.) But this piece of myself I tend to play down when I first meet people.

I learned my lesson when I was a freshman in college and called my roommates “uncultured swine” for not having seen a certain movie. They didn’t know me well enough to know that I totally wasn’t serious. They confided in me later that it took them a while before they understood the way I work. If there is one thing I’ve learned about myself, it is this: I tend to be a pretty passionate person about…everything.

I’m finally getting to a point in my life where change is a fun thing for me. For as long as I can remember I’ve had a hard time with change. It has just never made sense to me why things have to be moving and changing and going all the time. Why can’t we just chill and read books? Why is this a bad life plan?

beginningBut like I said, change is getting easier. Even exciting. Change always brings new perspectives and opportunities. Beginnings. Let me tell you, I am so, so excited about beginnings right now. Just stop and think about beginnings for a minute.

There is such a power, such a freedom in a beginning. Literally anything can happen. You can leave the past behind you and only bring the good forward. It is a chance to be more you than you’ve ever been, and better than you were yesterday.

I’ve got some pretty big goals for 2016, and I believe with my whole heart that it’s going to a great, great year. You know why? Because I am in charge my story. I am in charge of the way I think. I am the captain of my soul. We choose how the story continues. I believe that decisions determine destiny. Decide what you want your destiny to be, and then get there.

And let me know, will you? Tell me what you dream. Blog about it, write about it, share it with me. What have you decided? What are you doing this year? Don’t make a resolution. Change your life forever. And let me know how it works for you.

One thought on “Talk To Me

Leave a Reply

