I Was Wondering

Where Arrows Spring

Today’s daily prompt is interesting. It reads: If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

This concept of turning back time is something that I think about often. Especially in todaythelast week where my life has changed dramatically from returning to college, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. Mind you, some of it hasn’t gotten me anywhere, some of it is steeped in loads of Anglo-Saxon poetry, and some of it has really gotten my gears shifting.

If there is one thing that we can all agree on, it is this: time moves. It’s the one thing we try and save but can never keep, the thing we spend on but never own. “Time” is something that I’ve been thinking about a lot, which makes this daily prompt quite nice for me.

Why is it, do you think, that we even have this question in our minds? Why is it that some of us wish we could turn back time? I know many people who wouldn’t ever go back in time to relive parts of their life, because they are grateful for where their life has brought them. And others would leap at the chance to change an event or relive glory days.

But in all of my thoughts of time recently, all I can think about is all that “time” really is: right here and right now. And if I were to make a sudden change, right here and right now, then I’d never have to be asked this question again. If I were to make that one decision, whatever it may be, the one thing “I’ve always wanted to do”, then there would be no need for this question.

I think in trying to make sense of life, we often go backwards. Or we often look forwards. We do whatever we can to get out of right now because right now is what is causing the confusion. But right now is all we can change. “Time” is right now.

arrowsI have realized this past week that spending “time” on things that don’t ultimately make my life richer is a waste of “time”! A waste of right now. I’m lucky enough to have a job I love and be studying something I’m deeply interested in. But I’ve had my share of distractions this week. Yesterday I spent around 6 hours doing homework and realized that I know very little about my new roommates! I had such a “get this done” mentality that there was no “enjoy this”.

I guess, in the end, all I’m really trying to say is that this vague, huge thing we refer to as “time” is a force that we can use for or against us. We cannot go back in time and relive glory days or change bad moments because in that “right now” that was the decision you made, or the happiness you had created.

I think of it like an arrow. I love arrows. They are hugely symbolic if you look at them from an artistic perspective. For me, an arrow looks as though it is pointing the way, but also gathering what was behind it. Look at the straight line between the feathers and the arrowhead, and think of this as “right now”. It’s a time line that you can fill with whatever you choose.

The arrow will always continue to move forward because that is an arrow’s job, and eventually you’ll get where you’re going. But without the actual arrow itself, all we would have would be a pile of feathers and pointy thing. The whole arrow is important, all of it works together to get somewhere, but the shaft itself is the glue between where the arrow has been and where it is headed. And the whole point of sending an arrow off is that it will never come back.

2 thoughts on “Where Arrows Spring

Leave a Reply

