I'm Just Saying

Announcing: Feature Fridays!

newsThis week has been one of discovery in my blogging world, and I’m going to attempt to get right to the point as to why before I dive off into a speech.

Last Saturday I wrote a post about how basically my blog has been really disappointing me lately and I couldn’t really figure out why. I was depressed with where my blogging had gotten to and couldn’t figure out how to fix it. Then only three days later I wrote a post that totally changed everything and made me realize what the problem was: I have gotten to a point in my blogging that is depressing and disappointing because I’ve stopped writing about the things that I’m passionate about.

I’ve spent so much time wondering, what is my blog about? And I’ve gotten hung up on the idea of posting my observations on life, and this has just left me in and endless cycle of some things I’m currently pondering, and then it leads to depressing things and etc. In short, I’ve spent to much time forcing observations and deep ideas when I really could have just been talking about things that excite me, like I did with my second post.

So, I am, after much consideration, going to do something that I’ve been thinking about extradoing for a long time: I’m going to establish a static post. A post that you can count on every single week. It will be called “Feature Fridays”.

On Feature Friday I will, that’s right, feature different people. As a history major I have realized that people are really what life is about, learning about people, studying them, befriending them, loving them. This totally explains my love of Frank Sinatra! So, Feature Fridays will definitely become a thing starting today. I will feature historical figures I find fascinating, well known people now, and just the ordinary folk in my life! Who knows, maybe one of you will end up being featured in the near future!

As today is the very first Feature Friday I have been thinking a great deal about who I should feature. I have really only come up with one conclusion that seemed rather obvious. What one person has had more of an impact on my life than this one?

So today I’m going to tell you about my mother. She doesn’t know I’m doing this so for that reason I won’t be able to give you a picture of her, but my mother is completely and totally amazing. She was married to my father on her 20th birthday. They have now been married over 31 years, have 10 children, and own a sizable farm. My mother works hard every single day to make sure that my hoard of siblings and I, and now the army of 16.5 grandchildren, are happy, healthy, and loved.

Besides being an incredible wife, mother, and grandmother my mom is also one of the funniest people on this earth. I will freely admit I get my glorious sense of humor and wonderful wit from her. She is a dreamer and so creative! She knows how to organize and plan everything from a casual family get together to luxurious meals for my father’s business guests.

My mom is also incredibly spiritual, with a strong love for Jesus Christ and firm testimony of His teachings. Her testimony has had a profound impact on my life. She is incredibly innocent and humble, is pretty much incapable of lying unless it’s about Christmas presents, and is truly an angel. She has always supported me in everything I wanted to do, even if I could tell she wasn’t 100% comfortable with it. She loves us no matter what. I definitely wouldn’t be where I am today without her.

Leave a Reply

