I'm Just Saying

Not-So-Secretly

real farm tetonsI am currently going through this phase in my life where I’m just really into practicality and honesty. I’m loving how cut and dried things can be. If you don’t like bananas, don’t eat them. If you don’t want to go out, stay home. If you don’t agree with something, then don’t follow the crowd. If done in a respectful way, honesty is completely and totally liberating.

So today I’m going to be honest about something that I’m usually really vague about, particularly to my family.

I grew up on a huge farm in the middle of nowhere. My earliest memories are running around with my siblings in the mud and fields, looking at an absolutely breathtaking view of huge mountains and rolling hills growing wheat and potatoes. pivot

And for as long as I can remember, my imagination has taken me far past those fields and mountains, constantly pulling me “out there”. Since graduating high school and leaving home something I get asked often, mostly by my family, is whether or not I consider myself a country girl. Or in other words, do I claim my upbringing?

My interest in travel and longing to study European history has long been in my heart and has done great things for me. What I did not expect it to do was take me away from my amazing home long before I actually left. What I didn’t expect from my dreams and goals was that they distracted me from how wonderful life already was.

wheatEvery time I got asked the question of what I considered myself, I’d always kind of laugh it off. It was almost as though I was embarrassed to admit that my heart is tied to my home, family, and farming. I was embarrassed that it wasn’t easy to try and follow my dreams. I didn’t understand that it didn’t have to be one thing or the other. I didn’t understand that all of this fits inside of me, so therefore it will fit in my life.

I find it completely amazing that I’ve been thinking about this A LOT lately and then the daily prompt brought hit it right on the head. So, to summarize what I’ve been thinking about the last couple of days…

So what is my secret?

I grew up on a farm. I am a country girl. Nothing smells better than ripe wheat and lovenothing is more incredible that summer nights with dust in the air and country music blaring on the nearest radio.

It’s true that I have dreams and goals, places I want to go, but it’s also my vow that I’ll stop forgetting the wonderful things that make me who I already am.

2 thoughts on “Not-So-Secretly

Leave a Reply

