I'm Just Saying

SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME

more beautiful than silenceMy obsession with words has been a life long quest to find them. It isn’t just about saying words or writing them down. It is about finding the right words, the perfect words. It is about putting into words what nobody can. It is about expressing what is in your heart, the fibers of your soul. Words are about pulling the threads out of a masterpiece and weaving something grander.

Words can be our greatest blessing.

And our darkest curse.

For the longest time I thought that this was because there are many things that words have never been able to describe. We read incredible poetry and other literature and we are moved. We hear the words to a song and our heart breaks. But for all of that, there is always that feeling that there are some things that words simply cannot touch. And for most of my life that has been my goal as a writer: to find those things words can’t touch and embrace them.

But I have recently made a discovery.

And I don’t like it.

say what you meanYou may call me old fashioned if you wish, but in my mind a word means something. In my world, my words mean something. For me, my word is my bond. If I say something, if I write something, it is as good as eternal. I do not make promises that I do not intend to keep. I have only recently realized that not everybody in our society is this way. We live in a world where it is okay to say things you don’t mean and make promises that you have no intention of keeping. Perhaps this is why so many marriages fail, why so many hearts get broken in so many ways.

I’m having a difficult time understanding this.

Why is this okay?

When did it become acceptable to say things you don’t mean? Why is it alright to say you’ll do something if you’re never going to do it? We are made of more than that. Why would you allow another person to put their faith and trust in you, no matter how large or small, and then turn your back on them? And I don’t care if this is something you said to your boss or your two year old. A promise is a promise. Words are given meaning because we gave them meaning. And when we come to a point where we no longer care about them, terrible things begin happening. Words are meaningless

It isn’t enough to just say it.

And it used to be.

There used to be trust in this world. Am I crazy to put so much trust and devotion in people? In my world, if I consider you my good friend there is very little I won’t do for you. I trust you. I love you. You become a part of my life. And many times this has proved to be a little too giving. But I keep doing it because I don’t ever want to get to a point where I can’t love and trust anymore. However, it also means that each time it happens I’m just as surprised and hurt.

A promise is a promise

Words do mean something.

innocent and powerfulDo what you say you will do. It is important that the people in your life understand that they are, in fact, a part of your life. From the smallest to the biggest person in your life, they all have meaning and value and you mean something to them. They should mean something to you. I don’t believe in coincidence. There is a reason that so many lives interweave and touch.

Use your words wisely.

Mean them.

2 thoughts on “SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME

  1. Unfortunately a lot of people say things just for the sake of saying them. It is their way of making ‘small talk’. I refer to it as ‘pointless conversation’ because I have come to realise when people say “Let’s catch up soon, it’s been so long, I miss you” – they don’t actually mean it. They are filling in the silence and I now know they will never follow through. I agree with you though-there’s absolutely no point in saying anything unless you mean it and will in fact follow through with what you say.

Leave a Reply

