I'm Just Saying

Featuring: William Wilberforce

wilber

The very first time that I can remember my life changing drastically, dramatically, and exceptionally was when I was 12 years old. Of course I’d experienced change before this, some good and some bad. But never in my life had I had such a life altering positive change.

When I first heard of William Wilberforce and then began learning about him, my life changed forever. Today I want to tell you why.

I could name a pretty extensive list of people that have changed my life in a multitude of ways, all of them important and crucial to where I am today. But William Wilberforce is different, he had a different impact on my life than many others. This was the first time that I woke up and realized that I was a person. When I realized that I have purpose and potential, and that I can do anything.

To give you a  little bit of background on Wilberforce, he was a British politician whose career did enormous things for society. Just a few of his accomplishments were the abolition of the slave trade and the abolition of slavery itself. He became a member of Parliament in 1780 and retired from politics in 1825 and passed away in 1833.

His life is an incredible one to study and learn from. He was a devout Christian and manylook awa of his reforms of society stemmed from his beliefs. Truthfully, I could write an extensively long series of posts about Wilberforce and his amazing life.

But today what I really want to do is express my gratitude for him and how learning about him has changed my life. He helped me realize that there is more to be learned and gained than what is right outside our door. He helped me realize what I wanted to be and what I wanted to do. It was in learning about William Wilberforce that I discovered how beneficial it can be to study the lives of others.

I’m certain that he never suspected that over one hundred years after all of his endeavors that a 12 year old girl would collect books about him and strive to live with as much integrity, honor, and perseverance as he did. That just goes to show that we have no idea what can happen when we decide to do something great with our lives.

This I learned from William Wilberforce

Leave a Reply

