Just Writing

Just Write

If there is one thing in this world that I know I’m good at, it is giving pep talks. I am literally the best pep talk giver in the entire world. Honestly. There is nobody on the earth who could give you a pep talk like me. I’m unrivaled, unbelievable. I am so, so good at giving pep talks.

hardThe only issue with being the absolute best at something is that you have to understand by simple deduction skills that nobody else is as good at it as you are. Therefore if you are ever in need of the thing you are the best at you have to settle for less than the best because you are the best and you cannot give yourself your own bestness.

In my case, I guess I could give myself a fantastic pep talk. I could. In fact, I have. I’ve looked at myself in the mirror and just gone right into it. But I always have a tendency to believe myself when I’m talking to others and not when I’m talking to myself…unless it’s something negative. Like, “You’re a literary potato. Give up writing, sweetie.” Then all of the sudden I’m not a writer anymore.

Why do you think that is?

Because I can’t be the only one who has this issue. Why can we see so much good and potential and brilliance in others but yet when we look in the mirror we only see what we lack? We can’t believe the good within ourselves. I wish that weren’t the case.

Lately I’ve been thinking that it’s time to get serious about my writing. I think I’ve been kindsaying that on this blog for a while now, which is sad, but I truly and honestly mean it even if I’m not sure how to go about it. I know that I want to an author. That is all I’ve ever wanted. That is literally all my brain will allow me to do. And if that’s what I truly and honestly want with my life then I should be able to find a way to accomplish it. But I have this comparison syndrome and when I get thinking of all the other writers out there who are “better” than me or “more accomplished” than me then all of the sudden it doesn’t matter that I have talent or passion. It’s just all about somebody else’s work.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy for people and proud of them for making it as authors. And I’m sure they have all been in similar places as me. But the cold, hard truth is that if all we ever do is look at other writers and lament our chances then nothing ever happens. Nothing ever gets finished. I think we can definitely get too caught up in admiring others and then we lose the greatness in ourselves. Learning from others and admiring them becomes a bad thing when it becomes burdensome rather than inspiring.

So if I weren’t me, but giving me a pep talk, I’d probably say this:

Just write, dude. Don’t worry. Don’t stress. Don’t compare. There’s room for everybody. Just Write.

Leave a Reply

