I'm Just Saying

Unexpectedly Perfect

stairsAll the houses were made of brick. Rows and rows of perfectly placed houses all created of various colors of brick surrounded me daily when I was in Texas. It certainly wasn’t what I had been expecting from Texas, but I came to love that area more than I ever thought possible. A very wonderful feeling always came over me when I was there, or when I went back and visited, a feeling of: this was the right place for me.

When I was 14 I decided that I wanted to go to university in Edinburgh, Scotland. Many of you know that because of my ancestry, Scotland is my dream destination. My heritage is incredibly important to me. I created this huge dream for myself and all throughout high school I worked towards this dream of mine. I looked at the website almost daily, I had everything planned out, I had the school logo on my wall. It was something that was very special to me, like a tiny secret that I could work for and live for.

Well, I don’t have to tell any of you that I did not, in fact, end up going to university in Edinburgh, Scotland. It was interesting at the time because for the years and years that I had had this dream, everything about it had felt so right. I never once doubted my dream or my ability to accomplish it because everything about it had always felt so good. exalted

And then things changed. I ended up going to a different university that wasn’t across the entire planet, I ended up serving a religious mission, and then I ended up attending yet another university that was completely and totally NEVER on my list of possibilities. And more than all that, I ended up meeting countless people that have become so important to me.

I’ve learned various things from this chain of events.

First and foremost, I have learned that plans can change, sometimes at the last minute, and it can be the best thing that’s ever happened to you. I learned that a dream you really want, a dream that fuels your life for years, may have been a huge blessing in your life fallingbecause it was only a dream. Please don’t think I’m saying not to go after your dreams, because I believe in that 100%, but I also think that some dreams are merely preparatory. They put us in a particular state of mind, push us to become something we wouldn’t have otherwise, and bring us to a better place in the end, even if it wasn’t the place we imagined.

There isn’t a better feeling in the world than knowing you are exactly where you need to be, even if it isn’t where you thought you’d end up.

When you look in front of you and realize you are exactly where you need to be, doing exactly what you need to be doing: Don’t change it. Don’t worry. Stay there. Just enjoy it. The answers are all right there, right in front of you.

Exactly where you need to be.

Trust me.

Leave a Reply

