I'm Just Saying

Half in Love

roseI used to think that love was something you fell into. What can I say, I’ve always been a completely incurable romantic. The idea that fate or destiny or some force other than yourself could bring you together with another human and you could just find something in them that you’d always been searching for, almost by accident, long caused my girlish heart to pound with ridiculous joy.

What could possibly be more romantic than that?

But as the years have passed, and I’ve had to experience this thing often referred to as life, I’ve had a lot of opportunities to grow. Oddly enough, many of these opportunities come in the form of novels that I write. And because I personally think a novel would be pointless without it, all of my novels feature romance.

But as I’ve grown as a writer from the stage of every character being the exact same person no matter the novel to the stage of realizing that I’m supposed to be creating actual people – with personalities and everything, I’ve realized a lot of different things. In studying people and trying to recreate them in my novels, I’ve learned a great deal about people in general and what it means to love.

And besides that, I’ve learned so much spiritually over the last few years.

I’m just going to give it to you bluntly, as I’m a fan of blunt things. All of these different writing opportunities and spiritual growth have brought me to one very bold and life changing reality:

“Falling in love” is complete and total crap.

Seriously.true love

Just stop a moment and walk through this with me. We are human beings with brains that make decisions every single day. We have this ability to choose. We have this ability to discern right from wrong. We are not cookie cutter things that are just thrown out to “fate” or “destiny” or whatever.

Now before you get the wrong conclusion, please note that because I’m this crazy type of romantic person I believe wholeheartedly Β in true love. I believe in fate and I believe in destiny. I do not, however, believe that something as beautiful as true love is out of our control.

No, sir. I don’t believe that for a second.

I think you meet somebody in your life, and then one day you choose them. You choose to love them. You choose them because they make everything right and wrong all at the same time, because they make you laugh at really dumb jokes, and hug you when you’re at your worst.

Love, my friends, does not just “happen”.

choice thingLove is created. Love is sustained. Love is a choice.

Think about this: you meet somebody, perhaps by accident, and you get to know them, and you create this love between you by getting to know each other, and then one day you choose each other. You choose each other because it is the only thing that makes sense.

What could possibly be more romantic than that?

4 thoughts on “Half in Love

  1. “Think about this: you meet somebody, perhaps by accident, and you get to know them, and you create this love between you by getting to know each other, and then one day you choose each other. You choose each other because it is the only thing that makes sense.
    What could possibly be more romantic than that?”
    What a beautifully put together thought. A series of choices leads to a beautiful end/beginning. Two people meeting and realizing that they mesh for me isn’t an accident but a wonderful gift. Thanks for sharing. Another great read. 😊

Leave a Reply

