Just Writing

The Battle

The Battlebattle

I imagined going into battle
Being the bravest warrior

The victory would be greater
Than any wound sustained

I’d be more prepared than them
Ready for every strike and blow

I prepared for it all.

But I never saw it coming
That the battle field was different

I never knew the cost
Of looking in the mirror

The greatest enemy I found
Wasn’t at the hilt of a sword

I thought I was prepared.

The real battle was in my heart
The real battle was in my head

To listen. To love. To hope. To understand. To keep going.

This was the battle.

Leave a Reply

