I'm Just Saying

Something Good

Tonight on my way home from work I saw a falling star. It started at the top of my windshield, beginning just where I could see it, and fell slowly across the sky until it vanished. It was something brilliant and bright, something very good.

shooting-starOne week ago, my sister-in-law lost her younger brother in a car accident. He was only 19 years old. It was a tragic accident that has caused a great deal of pain in our family. It changes your perspective really quickly when something like this happens. It helps you understand that some things are important, incredibly important, and some things aren’t. Too many things aren’t. And they are often the things we spend too much time worrying about.

Every time I get a straw for a drink, I take the white wrapper off of it and tie it in a loose knot. Then I quickly pull the knot tight until it breaks. If the knot comes untied, it means something good. I’ve done it for so long that I’m not quite sure what it is supposed to mean. I think it might’ve meant that somebody was thinking about you, somebody good. Now that I’m a little older and this habit has stuck with me, I’ve come to think that every time that knot comes untied it just means something good.

Today my straw knot came untied, and then I was granted the sight of a shooting star. Both were good things. I’m grateful for good things tonight.

5 thoughts on “Something Good

Leave a Reply

