I'm Just Saying

All The Cliches

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been plagued with the desire to be different. My entire life has been spent seeking to be the nonconformist. I lost track years ago of how this happens. I don’t even want to talk about how many times I haven’t done something for the sole reason that “everybody else” is doing it.

This has always just been a huge part of me. It’s been me. I can’t be like everybody else.

But even this truth was hard because I knew I wasn’t the only one that felt this way. I knew that lots of people don’t want to conform to society. Lots of people want to be different. Lots of people felt exactly like me.

ClicheSo even in my desire to be different, I wasn’t different.

I’m not sure where this need to be a nonconformist came from. I don’t really remember a time when I wasn’t this way. Many of you know that I come from a very large family. I am one of ten children. Maybe this is where my desire to be different comes from. Maybe I just needed to stand out from the army of humans I was raised with. But to be honest, I love having a big family. It is hard sometimes, yes, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I love my siblings very much.

Anyway, the reason I bring this up is because in the last few months this aspect of my personality has been through some interesting twists and turns. And the last few days it’s been driving me nuts. I’ll explain.

I’ve been doing a lot of creating lately. I’ve been writing my novel, writing poems, and even painting a little. And it’s been really great. I love to create. I have loved doing it so much lately.

But then I get inside of my own head. And I start falling into the paradox all creators face:

What can I possibly say that hasn’t already been said?

What could I possibly write that hasn’t already been written?

My need to create has been seriously stagnated by my really obnoxious personality flaw. But this aspect of my personality has been seriously toned down the last few months. Actually, I’ve changed a lot the last few months.

I’ve learned that there is a reason cliches exist. I’ve learned that there is a reason that “everybody” does the things that they do.

It’s because they are good things. They are the best things. The right things. And when something is the best, and right, you have to take it. You just have to. And be grateful that you got lucky enough to understand why cliches exist.

So maybe I can’t say or write something different than what has already been said and written a million times for thousands of years. But I can say it or write it from my perspective. I can say it or write it from my heart. And in that way it will be just a little bit different. And it will be my take on life. And my take on the cliches.

So guess what?

I’ll take them. All the cliches. Send them my way, please.

Leave a Reply

