I'm Just Saying

Promise Me

One of the things I love most about summertime is how late the sun sets. The horizon was still glowing with pink and orange at ten o’clock tonight. I was driving around, listening to music.

make senseToday was really quite something. Yep. Yep it was. If I’m being completely honest, it was really hard. Today was a very, very hard day.

I’ve been ruminating on the subject of promises today. I can’t get it out of my head. I also realize that most of the time these types of posts really don’t go anywhere, but nevertheless I write them.

Promises have long intrigued me. They are incredibly important to me. And I’ve had a long standing policy about promises that’s really quite straightforward: If you make a promise, you keep it. It’s as simple as that.

Or so I thought.

But maybe I was wrong. Maybe it isn’t as simple as that. I think it can be as simple as that, but it gets all blurred. Life tends to do that unfortunately. I think promises get blurred when you start to really question them.

Do you have to say “I promise” in order for it to be considered a promise?

I’ve never thought so. I still don’t. I think we make promises all the time. More often than will not failwe really know. We make a promise when we tell somebody to have a good day. A promise that we care about how their day goes. We make a promise when we answer a question a child asks. A promise that we will help them find the answer, even if we don’t know it. We make a promise when we pray and ask God for answers. A promise that we’ll act on the answer we get. We make a promise when we joke around with our friends. A promise that we care about their happiness, and how often they laugh.

But to be honest, I think that the words, “I love you” are the most powerful promise we ever make.

I could go on for days about all the promises we make when we use those words. But I won’t. You all know what they are.

I’ve been thinking in particular today about the promises that we make with God, and the things He promises us.

heavenly promisesThe wonderful thing about God’s promises is that they are sure. God doesn’t lie. He can’t. When He makes us a promise, He has to keep it. I think that’s pretty incredible. All we have to do is trust Him. And have faith. It’s a lot easier said than I done, I know. Trust me. But He’s told me it will all be worth it when the sun shines again.

That’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

